2023 Bearcats Football Captains Announced

Photo by Noah Francis


By: Ryan Roberts


In 6 days, the Scott Satterfield era will kick off in Nippert Stadium as the Bearcats host the Eastern Kentucky Colonels at 3:30 pm.


On Sunday afternoon Scott Satterfield named the captains of this year's squad.


Defensive linemen Jowon Briggs and Dontay Corleone were named captains from the defensive side of the ball, while center Gavin Gerhardt and quarterback Emory Jones were named from the offensive side of the ball.


Briggs and Corleone were both present at Big 12 Media Day in july, along with Emory Jones so it isn't much of a surprise that those three were included in this year's captain selection.


Gerhardt is the only returning offensive starter from last year's team and has shown consistency both on and off the field throughout the off season as a vocal leader.


Corleone has garnered multiple preseason all american awards as well as preseason Big 12 first team all conference selections.


Briggs returns for a fifth season after being selected to the AAC first team defense last season.


Jones decided to transfer to Cincinnati for a redshirt senior season after stops at Florida and Arizona State.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published